Posted on

Drafted

Right now in History we’re learning about World War I, and we did a journal today about the draft and how we feel about it. Personally, I am against the draft; I feel war is disgusting, let alone forcing people to kill others. But eventually the topic came around to women being drafted, which I thought was an interesting topic.

The thing is, I’m confused about how I feel on this one. On one hand, I feel that the less people being drafted the better, the draft itself should be eliminated and all wars should be decided through games of Duck Duck Goose*. But on the other hand, I really don’t think the draft is going anywhere anytime soon. It’s probably going to be here for quite a while longer; and because of that I would rather women had the same rights, with some reservations if it’s just not possible, like if she were pregnant or had something else impeding her from joining, just the same as men. The idea of being drafted is a terrifying thought to me, so I would be tempted to just say, “Yup yup, it’s fine as it is,” but honestly my morals would be screaming otherwise at me.

What do you think? Should women be able to be drafted or not? Tell yours truly in the comments.

Oh yeah, and I was listening to “Best Cock on the Block” by Bitch and Animal during this. It’s hard to write a serious blog post when you’re hearing, “From the D to the I to the L to the DO!”.

*I just feel that Obama would be good at Duck Duck Goose. Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

